Committee Composition

Below is a summary of our committee structure and membership information. To read more about any of the committees, click on committee names in the chart below.
Chairperson Chairman Committee Member Member Financial Expert Financial Expert

Audit CommitteeCompensation CommitteeCorporate Governance & Nominating CommitteeHealth, Safety & Environmental CommitteeTechnical and Ore Reserve Committee
Independent Directors
George M. Bee 
Biography PhotoGeorge M. Bee

George M. Bee was appointed a Director of the Company on November 24, 2012. Mr. Bee served as the President and Chief Executive Officer of Andina Minerals Inc. beginning 2009 until January 2013. From 2007 to 2009, he was Chief Operating Officer for Aurelian Resources, Inc. prior to its acquisition by Kinross Gold Corporation. Mr. Bee served in various senior management and operational positions at Barrick Gold Corporation during two terms of service with the company, first from 1989 to 1995 and ... 
    Chairperson Committee Member
Patrice E. Merrin 
Biography PhotoPatrice E. Merrin

Patrice Merrin was elected to the Board on May 2, 2013. She was appointed an Independent Director of Glencore plc in June 2014. She was Chairman of the Board (2011-2013) and a Director (2008-2013) of CML HealthCare Inc. and served as Interim CEO (2011-2012).

Since January 2012, Ms. Merrin has been a Director of Ornge, Ontario’s medical transport service. From 2009-2014, she was a Director of the Climate Change and Emissions Management Corporation, created to support Alberta’s initia... 
  Committee Member Chairperson   
Lawrence Peter O'Hagan 
Biography PhotoLawrence Peter O'Hagan

Peter O’Hagan was appointed a Director of the Company on March 16, 2015. Mr. O'Hagan joined KKR in 2014 as an Executive in Residence of the Energy & Infrastructure group following almost 23 years working at Goldman Sachs where he most recently co-headed the global commodities business and served as head of origination and structuring. He began his career at Philipp Brothers in New York and Tokyo. He then joined Goldman Sachs in the metals department in New York in 1991 as an associate. He becam... 
Committee Member Committee Member    
Michael S. Parrett Financial Expert
Biography PhotoMichael S. Parrett

Michael S. Parrett was elected to the Board on May 7, 2009. Mr. Parrett has been an independent consultant since 2002. During 2002, 2003 and the first quarter of 2004, Mr. Parrett served as a financial consultant to Stillwater Mining Company. From 1990-2001 he worked at Rio Algom Limited and at various times was Chief Financial Officer of Rio Algom, President of Rio Algom and briefly Chief Executive of Billiton Base Metals. From 1983-1989, Mr. Parrett performed various financial functions, inclu... 
Chairperson   Committee Member   
Brian D. Schweitzer 
Biography PhotoBrian D. Schweitzer
Chairman of the Board

Brian Schweitzer was elected to the Board on May 2, 2013 and became the non-executive Chairman of the Board on May 17, 2013. Mr. Schweitzer most recently served as Governor of Montana, from January 5, 2005 to January 7, 2013. Gov. Schweitzer maintained one of the highest approval ratings among American politicians, delivered the eight largest budget surpluses in Montana history, cut the most taxes in history and froze tuition increases at state universities, before retiring due to term limits. G... 
   Committee Member Committee Member  
Gary A. Sugar 
Biography PhotoGary A. Sugar

Gary A. Sugar was appointed a Director of the Company on August 29, 2012. Mr. Sugar retired as a Managing Director, Investment Banking at RBC Capital Markets in 2011, following 32 years of service focused on the mining sector. From 1967 through 1979, he worked in the mining industry in functions that included geology, corporate development and consulting. Mr. Sugar joined the Boards of Directors of Romarco Minerals Inc. and Osisko Mining Corporation in March of 2012. He holds a Bachelor of Scien... 
Committee Member Chairperson    Chairperson
Inside Director
Michael J. McMullen 
Biography PhotoMichael J. McMullen
President and Chief Executive Officer

Mick McMullen is President and Chief Executive Officer and a member of the Board of Directors. Mr. McMullen was elected to the Board on May 2, 2013 and appointed President and Chief Executive Officer on December 3, 2013. Previously, Mr. McMullen served in a variety of senior executive and directorship positions, most recently as a Principal at MRI Advisory AG, a private company focusing on the development of metal and minerals projects in the Americas, Europe and Africa. Over the course of his 2... 
    Committee Member Committee Member